The way we share students’ private information
How Does theLearnia Share Your personal information?
We may share personal information collected through this Website with companies and organizations that perform certain functions for us. For example, we may share personal information with companies that provide support services to us or that help us improve and/or market our products and services. Our contracts with these third parties require them to use the personal information we share with them only to perform services on our behalf and to treat your personal information as strictly confidential.
In unusual, limited circumstances, we may share or transfer the personal information in our databases to unrelated third parties. For example, we may provide personal information to a third party to prevent or investigate a possible crime, such as fraud or identity theft; to comply with a court order or subpoena; to comply with a legal requirement; to enforce a contract; to protect the rights, property, or safety of theLearnia, our users or others; to protect your vital interests; or in connection with a corporate sale, purchase, merger, reorganization, liquidation, dissolution, or similar event. When we disclose information under these or similar circumstances, we will take appropriate steps to protect the confidentiality of your personal information if that is possible.
Sharing User-Generated Content with other Users
User-Generated Content, to the extent that it does not include any personal information, will be shared with other users of the Website. In many cases, this will occur automatically. You should have no expectation of privacy with respect to User-Generated Content (except for Private Data) that you or anyone else may submit to or through this Website. You should not submit any User-Generated Content to or through this Website unless you wish to make that information available to the general public, and you must take special care to make sure your posts comply with our Terms of Service. In particular, your posts must not violate the rights of others – including the right to privacy.
Anything you post on Graffiti is automatically public. It can be seen by all other Users of theLearnia and might be indexed by search engines belonging to other companies or link to other social networks if you have registered through their login mechanism.
Special note on Teachers’ User-Generated Content and personal information
Everything that a Teacher posts or uploads to the Website – including all personal information in the Teacher’s profile, all the Teacher’s writings on his/her Graffiti and all Teacher communications with Students and with other Teachers – is public, meaning that any User of the Website can see it. Additionally, if you register through Facebook or Google+, then it is possible that your material may appear on walls on their websites.
Un-Publishing User-Generated Content
If, at any time, you wish us to take down videos or other files that you have uploaded to the Website, you may use the un-publish feature of the Website to discontinue general public access to such User-Generated Content – or, with respect to posts on your Graffiti, you may delete them without using the un-publish feature. You may delete personal information from your personal profile at any time by deleting the field in which it appears. Please be aware, however, that if the User-Generated Content has already been distributed to other websites or published in other media, we will not be able to recapture and delete it. In any case, un-published or deleted material will persist in our servers. For more information on this aspect of our service, see our Terms of Service.