User-Generated Content

Your intellectual property rights and obligations, disclosure of unpublished or removal of user-generated content here and on YouTube that may be played through this Web Site

theLearnia is mostly what its Students and Teachers make it. You can post and upload all kinds of things on the Website. But make sure you understand our rules about the stuff you put up. Specifically:

 

Creating content on this Website

Through this Website, you will have the opportunity to create and post files, video clips, courses, tutorials, comments, tests, questions, answers, and other instructional and educational materials: "User-Generated Content." You may only post items if either (A) you alone created them or (B) you have all permissions necessary to submit the items as User-Generated Content (“Your Licenses”).

More specifically, by posting User-Generated Content to this Website, you guarantee to us that (i) you own or otherwise control all of the rights to the User-Generated Content you post and that you have the right to let us use it as described in Your License to Us, below; (ii) the User-Generated Content you post is accurate, (iii) you have read and understood - and your User-Generated Content fully complies with - these Terms and (iv) your User-Generated Content will not injure anyone.

User-Generated Content Ownership

You continue to own the User-Generated Content you submit, but we may use it.

You (or your licensor(s)) continue to own your User-Generated Content and your Licenses after submitting them to our Website. We do not claim any copyright in User-Generated Content created and posted by individual Users of this Website.

Because one purpose of this Website is to create a sharing educational community, we must have the right to share your User-Generated Content with others and to manage material posted on this Website. Therefore, any time you upload, post, link, transmit or otherwise make any User-Generated Content available on or through this Website, you are automatically granting a license (or sublicense, as the case may be); in either case: “Your License to Us”, which has these characteristics:

  • Your License to Us runs to theLearnia and its subsidiaries, affiliates, successors and assigns;
  • granting Your License to Us still leaves you free to grant the same rights to others;
  • no money need be paid by us for Your License to Us, either to obtain it from you in the first place or as a result of any economic benefit we may get from our use of it in the future;
  • we can use Your License to Us anywhere in the world;
  • Your License to Us never expires;
  • you cannot take back Your License to Us;
  • we can transfer Your License to Us to anyone else we may choose, and they will then have the same right to transfer it to others, and then to others still, without limit;
  • under Your License to Us, we can use, copy, distribute, publicly display and perform, publish, transmit, remove and retain your User-Generated Content in any and all media or forms of communication (whether now existing or hereafter developed) without obtaining any additional consent from you or anyone else, without restriction and without notice to you, and without compensating you in any way.

Your License to Us also allows us to modify your User-Generated Content, as provided in these Terms.

Disclosure and/or removal of User-Generated Content

Because this Website is intended for students and in view of its educational purposes, we reserve the right to ensure that the primary purposes of this Website are protected. Specifically, we may (but are not required to) monitor all User-Generated Content. We may require that you avoid certain subjects, if we believe that doing so will help ensure compliance with applicable laws. We may (but are not required to) remove any User-Generated Content at any time without notice at our sole and absolute discretion.

We reserve the right to disclose any User-Generated Content and the identity of the User who posted or transmitted that User-Generated Content in response to a subpoena or whenever we believe that disclosure is appropriate to comply with the law or a court order, to prevent or investigate a possible crime or other violation of law, to protect our rights or the rights of others, or to enforce these Terms.

We also reserve the right (but do not assume the obligation) to terminate your access to and use of this Website, or to censor, edit or block your user-Generated Content or other transmissions to the Website, in our sole discretion. We may, however, continue to use blocked User-Generated Content in the same way that we may use non-blocked User-Generated Content. For any purpose described in this paragraph, we may access your account and all of its content. Even if we censor, edit or block any User-Generated Content that you posted or uploaded onto the Website, you will remain the owner of such Content and you will remain solely responsible for it.

Content may be stored on servers not belonging to us

Any User-Generated Content may be stored on our servers, on one or more servers owned by and/or shared with others, or on the servers of content providers such as YouTube or Vimeo, where it may be accessible to persons other than theLearnia Users.

Content on YouTube may be played through the Website

YouTube terms of service permit us to link YouTube content to the Website, as long is such content is streamed via YouTube Embeddable Player. If you have posted content on YouTube, we may make that content available to Users on our Website without prior notice to you and without your prior consent. However, if you do not want to share your YouTube content with theLearnia Users, you can simply delete it from YouTube or disable the embedded movie option on YouTube. If you do so, the Website will no longer present your YouTube content.

Un-published content persists

When you un-publish any of your User-Generated Content, it can't be seen by other users However, it may still remains as a backup on our (or third party) servers.

Deleted an account

Either if you decide to delete your account or theLearnia team has decided to delete your account (which is a different action from un-publishing) the content uploaded by you or the links that you contributed will remain on our server and might be used by others who share our website.